All

The Body Shop: Tea Tree Oil

Image

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to take better care of my skin and so I got right on that by ordering a bunch of products from The Body Shop’s Tea Tree line. Now I have previously used the Tea Tree Toner from The Body Shop but it was just way too harsh for my skin and so I never repurchased. I needed a spot treatment and picked up this little bottle of tea tree oil. The reviews for it are great; many people swear by it and its abilities to combat breakouts. Here’s my two cents. 

In terms of controlling and helping acne blemishes go away, it does a decent job for new blemishes now popping up under the skin. But for pesky ones that like to stay a while and not go away, it doesn’t work as well. I find that it doesn’t actually perform as well as the Etude House AC Clinic Red Spot Balm and it doesn’t last nearly half as long. There’s only 10 mL of product in the bottle and after using it everyday for the past 2-3 weeks I’m about halfway through. It’s tricky to put on because you have to either use a cotton swab or your fingertip and place it on the head and tilt it so enough product comes out. That being said, you don’t really know how much you’re pouring until you see it dripping down. So the packaging is a bit iffy, in my opinion. 

It smells strongly of tea tree oil and once you put it on, it stings a bit then goes away. I do like that it’s a clear liquid so when you put it on your face you can still go about normally without having to worry about white or tan spots from other spot treatments all over your face. I know we’ve all been there and probably have freaked out a bunch of people as well. Aside from it’s decent job of clearing blemishes, I would not repurchase this product. It was nice to try to see if it works but in the end, my skin needs something a bit better and stronger. 

Pros:

– Made from Community Fair Trade organic tea tree oil

– Clear spot treatment 

– Does a decent job of combating pimples 

Cons:

– Dries out the skin

– Packaging is a bit difficult

– Finishes quickly

– Does not work as fast

Rate: 3.5/5

6 thoughts on “The Body Shop: Tea Tree Oil”

  1. I have tried this product before, and have to say I did not like it. It didn’t really do much for me. I also really dislike the packaging, makes it really hard to get product to the product. I have been using Clinque’s Acne Solution Spot Healing Gel and Mario Badescu’s Dry Lotion. I find those two the perform better compared to the Tea Tree Oil by The Body Shop.

Leave a Reply

