All

Stila Brighten and Correct Concealer Review

ImageWhen I ordered this from Stila, I had pretty high hopes that it would do all that everyone who raved about it said it would do. I thought it was interesting that the concealer itself was made up of swirls of two colors that would mix to give your intended shade.Image On the box, it says that the coverage is medium and that it blended to a velvety finish. I like that it is formulated without parabens, oil, lanolin and fragrance. It wouldn’t irritate sensitive skin like mine. But I hated how I had to brush it over what I wanted to cover up, (blemishes) and would have to keep using the same brush head even when I didn’t have any blemishes; which would transfer oil and bacteria and all that other good stuff, and result in clogged pores and more blemishes. Kind of seems like a never-ending circle, no?
Image I got this color in Tan because Deep was incredibly dark for my skin-tone and the Light was way too light. So Tan seemed like a good choice. Upon taking it out and testing it, it has a twist cap so you’d have to twist and twist and twist until you see the brush head become tinged with makeup. This actually look a long time and a lot of twisting. But that’s understandable since it was brand new and never used. However, I noticed that I’d have to twist a lot to get even a bit to come out everyday. Now the tip of the concealer pen is a brush with very plastic-y looking bristles. It was weird when the concealer came out that I’d have to either dab the brush on my hand or put it directly onto my face, which turned out to be a problem. The colors never mixed well enough and so I ended up having to manually mix it with my fingertip, then apply it onto my face, which in the process, used up most of the concealer and I would end up having to use more. 

Also, I noticed that the coverage wasn’t all that great, the color didn’t really mesh well with my skin and so it would leave the spots I was trying to conceal looking reddish-brown; anything BUT tan…which I think is because the colors never swirled and came out properly out of the pen. I like the concept and idea of this concealer pen but unfortunately it would take a lot of tweaking to actually perfect it. The brush head is way too soft so when you try to apply it on the skin, the concealer just kind of goes back into the bristles. You guys know what I’m talking about? And the shade selections aren’t all that great as well; very few people would be able to use the shades Deep, Tan and Light without having to mix with another concealer. All in all, I ended up getting so frustrated with this concealer that I started using my MAC Studio Fix powder as concealer…and it ended up working out as so much better! If you guys really want to know how I did it, I’d be glad to share 😉 

Rate: 2/5 

2 thoughts on “Stila Brighten and Correct Concealer Review”

  1. I really hate when you get a product that you have high hopes for, ends up turning out to be a really crappy product. But just on a side note I don’t think this concealer is intended for blemishes and the like, it seems that since it’s marketed as brightening that it would be best suited for under the eyes.
    XOXO
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

