All

DIY Tomato Scrub!

Hello all! Today I’ll be showing you guys how to get brighter, healthier skin using a simple ingredient: Tomatoes. Tomatoes are chock full of antioxidants, vitamins, fiber and minerals and lycopene! I could go on to list all of them but really that would be a very long list. Lycopene in tomatoes help protect skin against UV damage and also help to reduce fine lines and wrinkles, which makes it great for anti-aging. You can get lycopene and all these other vitamins and minerals by eating tomatoes or tomato based products like ketchup. Topically applying tomatoes can help to shrink pores, heal acne, soothe sunburns and burns, and achieve glowing skin.  Let’s get started!

What you’ll need:

  • A nice ripe tomato. This tomato is organic and was grown in my backyard. 
  • A tablespoon of sugar (for the scrub)

Image

Looks delicious Image

How to: 

Step 1: Slice the tomato up and keep the end slice (where the stem grows from) to use  as your scrubbing pad. Image

Step 2: Place the pad on the sugar to get an ample amount of sugar onto the tomato. 
ImageStep 3: Here’s where it’ll get messy. Take the tomato and start gently rubbing it on your (clean) face in circular motions. It’s best to do this over a sink to prevent the sugar from falling everywhere. 

Step 4: Scrub to your heart’s content. And after you’re done scrubbing you can either wash it off and call it a day ORRRRRR you can keep it on as a mask for 15 minutes. You can either wash off the sugar and then reapply the tomato juice to your skin and leave it on or you can keep both the sugar and tomato juice on. 

Step 5: After 15 minutes you’ll notice that you’re starting to turn red, which is the effect of the beta-carotene in the tomato. This is completely fine as the beta-carotene helps protect your skin from the sun and the tomato’s vitamins are being absorbed into your skin. Now you can wash it off and follow through with your regular cleansing and moisturizing routine. 

After the initial redness goes away, you should notice how clearer and cleaner your skin looks. Your pores should be tighter and you should have a brighter complexion. Whatever scars or burn marks you have should be healing well and look better than before you applied the tomato. I love using this as a pack to help boost my skin’s complexion and to help fight acne and acne scars!

Step 6: For added health and yum benefits, take the left-over tomato slices and eat them! This is the best way to get lycopene and all the other benefits! I like to dash salt and black pepper on mine and eat it. Trust me, it’s delicious!
Image

5 thoughts on “DIY Tomato Scrub!”

  1. Great post! I like to do this as well but haven’t done it in at least 2 months. Thanks for the reminder ^.~ I did not, however, eat the rest of the tomatoes so I’m gonna do that next time!

  2. Reblogged this on M.I.A Fashion Blog and commented:
    I’m so trying this scrub! It’s simple and I could really use this since my face was breaking out and break outs leave scars! I recommend everyone try it out and let me know how it went for you too. I’ll try and post pictures of my face scrub

Leave a Reply

