All

This Trendy “Strong is the New Skinny” Thing (and what it could mean for the next generation of girls)

This Trendy “Strong is the New Skinny” Thing (and what it could mean for the next generation of girls).

 

Finally someone put what I was thinking (and doing) into words! Our goal as women shouldn’t be to be super skinny by starving yourself or going on a diet but to be FIT and STRONG, which is 10x more better for you physically and mentally. You can be 150 lbs of muscle and look just as good as someone who is 120 lbs. It’s all about muscle and how sculpted your body is. Being toned and fit is exhilarating  Feeling the burn during and after working out, that sweet pain the next day after an intense workout, feeling like you’re on top of the world after completing a run, being able to push yourself to lift more each day or squat more or just do some more crunches or push-ups. Knowing that your body can do all these things and demonstrating that it actually can…is one of the best things ever. Personally for me, I love judo. Judo is amazing and fantastic and I love doing it. After doing it for a good year, I soon came to realize that not only did my cardio and endurance levels get so much better, but that I could lift someone up twice my size and flip them over. LOL. And I also gained some muscle mass to add on to my frame which made me feel so much better about always being super-skinny my entire life. I also try to do yoga every week and even though to some it may be like just stretching (which is DEFINITELY not) it is very good for your body and mind. To be honest, I think I’m pretty flexible but some of these yoga poses are so ridiculously hard, I’m scare to try them in case I pull/tear something. Which of course only motivates me to get to that point where I can be confident in attempting that pose and working on perfecting it. 🙂

I know this is a bit random for a beauty blog like mine, but I just wanted to share it with you guys! Maybe I should do a post on all the reasons why working out is good for your skin 😛

3 thoughts on “This Trendy “Strong is the New Skinny” Thing (and what it could mean for the next generation of girls)”

  1. Love this post! The focus should be about being fit, and healthy and having a good steady supply of energy. That’s awesome that you do judo! I tried it for a few weeks in college and enjoyed it, but I just never invested in a proper gi with the thick lapel (I was using a karate gi that finally ripped). So I eventually just stopped going. Yoga is also really good for keeping you strong, fit and toned!

    1. Thank you!! 🙂 Judo is amazing haha the gi shrinks every time you wash it so you end up with shorter sleeves and pants every time LOL. And I love doing yoga, when I get around to it. 😀

Leave a Reply

