All, Reviews

St. Ives Moisturizing Cleanser Review

Hello everyone. Today I want to talk about a product that I’ve bought ages ago. It was the St. Ives Moisturizing Cleanser. Now I’m sure we all know about the St. Ives Apricot Scrub and how amazing it is at exfoliating. So I picked up this cleanser expecting it to be just as amazing.

It has chamolie flowers in it and is supposed to be very soothing and gentle at removing makeup and cleansing. By the way, this is not a foaming cleanser or lathering cleanser, when you put it on your face it just sort of stays there I guess. Which is what I didn’t like about this cleanser.
It felt really heavy on my face and even after I washed it off my face still felt…not clean. I don’t know if it’s all the moisturizing ingredients that they put in it but it did not feel good on my skin. I have oily skin (as you probably may know if you’ve read my posts) and when I wash my face I want it to feel really clean. This cleanser did not make it feel clean at all. I was really surprised though because it supposedly has great reviews on the St. Ives site. So I lent this cleanser to someone else to try and they felt the same way I felt: it left a very heavy residue on your face, didn’t foam or lather and didn’t do much ‘cleaning’ or makeup removing. Also there is mineral oil in the ingredients…right after water, so you could guess how much they’ve put in this product. I’ve never seen a cleanser with mineral oil in it before so I presume this is what is making it feel really heavy.

So I stopped using it and switched back to my love Clearasil, which still hasn’t failed me yet. But, I rediscovered it when I was looking for shaving cream/gel and found out I had none. So…I decided to get a little nifty and try this out as a shaving cream. It worked. Very well I might say too. Because of it’s heavyish consistency and the moisturizing properties it was perfect for shaving. Because it didn’t foam or lather that meant the razor blades could actually get a closer shave instead of being inhibited by the amount of foam and lather most shaving creams have. Therefore, I will now be using this cleanser as a shaving cream. Yup. I said it. LOL. It might sound rather shabby and desperate but trust me, it works; better than any shaving cream that I’ve tried that lathers and foams.

As a cleanser/makeup remover: 0/5

As a shaving cream: 5/5

😀

3 thoughts on “St. Ives Moisturizing Cleanser Review”

  1. Yay! I love this! Nothing beats a product with dual uses.

    I recently went looking for the infamous St. Ives Ap. Scrub, but did not see the oh so familiar bottle &labelling. Instead, a label similar to yours with the apricot cleasing features advertised as well ( merely New lables I assumed). But after using it I found it to be FAR less exfoliating than the original. I ended up stuffing it behind my functioning skin care products & turned to my temporary go-to, Neutrogena Pink grape fruit scrub. I
    also have oily skin, so the original formula will be MUCH MISSED. I’ll definitely be trying the newest bottle as a shaving cream =)

    1. Thanks for commenting! I think I have the newer Apricot Scrub and I haven’t noticed the scrub power difference LOL but hey I don’t mind. Tell me how it goes when you try the ‘shaving cream’ lol!

Leave a Reply

