All, Reviews

The Body Shop: Tea Tree Toner. First Impression.

So I went to the mall today and picked up this tea tree toner that I’ve always wanted to get. This toner is supposedly very suitable for oily, acne prone skin and it’s supposed to help with breakouts and shine. Now, I was really excited to try this toner because I heard so many good things about it. It is made with lemon tea tree oil and Kenyan Fair Trade tea tree oil, as well as witch hazel and corn starch. The corn starch sinks to the bottom of the bottle so to ‘activate’ the toner you have to shake it up and use immediately. Upon opening the bottle, it smelled quite okay. I could tell it was strong though by the scent. So, starting off my skin routine I applied the toner on a cotton sheet and rubbed it all over my face…
It
Stung
Like
No
Other.
Seriously, my face felt like it was on fire. It especially burned near my nose and mouth area. It said on the bottle that it contained tamanu oil which is supposed to calm inflammation and irritation, but after using, my face actually felt irritated and inflamed. I don’t know if I’m allergic to any of the ingredients or my skin is just way too sensitive, but I hope The Body Shop has a good return policy. I will give this toner another try and see if anything changes.

Has anyone tried or used the Tea Tree Toner by The Body Shop? If so, what were your experiences with it?

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop: Tea Tree Toner. First Impression.”

  1. Eek! That burning sensation doesn’t sound too good :/ Does it contain any type of salicylate? I’m allergic to salicylates and have the same reaction to anything that contains it.
    Naomi x

  2. This toner is the toner I always buy now, don’t worry the tingly sensation is normal and a lot of toners are like that. I love the sensation of astringent toners, I find them very refreshing (actually I had a toner before this one that was even more tingly and I loved it, unfortunately it’s too expensive to buy regularly). I know some people don’t like it, but it’s not a reaction or anything 🙂

Leave a Reply

